Regional Festivals

In addition to the Competition & Festival in New York City each May, Essentially Ellington co-produces non-competitive, education-focused festivals designed to offer high school jazz bands of all levels the opportunity to perform the music of Duke Ellington and other seminal big band composers and arrangers at various locations across the country. Participating bands receive professional feedback from JALC clinicians and other jazz professionals in their own backyard. Regional Festivals will be held at the following locations:

Saturday, November 23, 2013
Regional Festival at Brigham Young University (Provo, UT)

Saturday, January 25, 2014
Regional Festival at Yorktown High School (Arlington, VA)

Thursday, January 30, 2014
Regional Festival at Webster Groves High School (St. Louis, MO)

Saturday, February 1, 2014
Regional Festival at Broward Community College (Fort Lauderdale, FL)

Saturday, February 15, 2014
Regional Festival at Sun Prairie High School (Sun Prairie, WI)

Thursday, February 20, 2014
Regional Festival at University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill (Chapel Hill, NC)

Saturday, March 1, 2014
Regional Festival at Ithaca College (Ithaca, NY)

Wednesday, March 5, 2014
Regional Festival at Temple University (Philadelphia, PA)

Wednesday-Thursday, March 5-6, 2014
Regional Festival at Mesa Arts Center (Mesa, AZ)

Saturday, March 22, 2014
Regional Festival at Greenwich High School (Greenwich, CT)

Saturday, April 5, 2014
Regional Festival at University of New Orleans (New Orleans, LA)

Saturday, April 12, 2014
Regional Festival at Newark Academy (Livingston, NJ)

Saturday, April 12, 2014
Regional Festival at Michigan State University (East Lansing, MI)